• Home
  • >Thomasina Crockford

Thomasina Crockford

Driffield, East Riding Of Yorkshire, YO25
01262420653 01262420653 07950 076305 07950 076305
Driffield, East Riding Of Yorkshire, YO25

About me

I see clients in my private practice in a designated, quiet therapy room.
I have worked in both the private and voluntary sectors of counselling and supervision, gaining several accolades for voluntary work.
After working as a counselling tutor, I then went on to write and provide many colleges with counselling training materials, and have written and fronted several other courses for various providers relating to self-awareness, self esteem, body-language and bereavement issues.

I am an Integrative counsellor, with a strong emphasis on individuality, working closely with the client to ensure tailoring the therapy to each client's specific needs.


Thank you for taking the time to read my profile.

Training, qualifications & experience


I'm a registered member of the British Association of Counselling & Psychotherapy (BACP), and on their register of counsellors.
​BACP is one of the UK’s largest professional bodies for counselling and psychotherapy.
In 2013 the BACP Register was the first register to achieve Accredited Voluntary Register status with the Professional Standards Authority.
All members are bound by a Code of Ethics & Practice and Complaints Procedures.
Accredited by the Professional Standards Authority. http://www.bacp.co.uk/

​Fully Insured at my Private Practice.

Training, qualifications & experience:
I gained my Counselling Diploma in 1995 and have since gained extensive experience in several fields including: Working with Prison staff; working with the Police providing trauma counselling etc.
Also bereavement and loss issues; rape counselling; adult survivors of sexual abuse.
Relationship issues and couples counselling.
Group therapy for women's self-esteem and parenting skills.
I have worked with families in a counselling/facilitator role, who wished to talk through issues affecting family relationships and interactions.
I have worked with many counselling students, providing supervision and personal therapy up to and including Masters Degree level.
I've taught counselling up to and including Diploma level, and know the importance and value of a sound provision of the above.

Member organisations

BACP

British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy

BACP is one of the UK’s largest professional bodies for counselling and psychotherapy. Therapists registered with the Association fall into a number of different membership categories such as Individual Member, Registered Member MBACP and Registered Member MBACP (Accred), each standing for different levels of training and experience. MBACP (Accred) and MBACP (Snr Accred) members have achieved a substantial level of training and experience approved by the Association.

Registered members can be found on the BACP Register, which was the first register to achieve Accredited Voluntary Register status issued by the Professional Standards Authority. Individual Members will have completed an appropriate counselling and/or psychotherapy course and started to practise, but will not appear on the BACP Register until they've progressed to Registered Member MBACP status.

All members are bound by a Code of Ethics & Practice and a Complaints Procedure. Accredited by the Professional Standards Authority.

Accredited register membership

British Association for Counselling & Psychotherapy

Accredited Register Scheme

The Accredited Register Scheme was set up in 2013 by the Department of Health (DoH) as a way to recognise organisations that hold voluntary registers which meet certain standards. These standards are set by the Professional Standards Authority (PSA).

This therapist has indicated that they belong to an Accredited Register.

Other areas of counselling I deal with

Check my web-site for more information: www.pro-activecounselling.weebly.com

Therapies offered

  • Behavioural therapy
  • Cognitive and behavioural therapies
  • Cognitive behavioural therapy (CBT)
  • Cognitive therapy
  • Couples counselling
  • Group therapy
  • Humanistic therapies
  • Integrative
  • Interpersonal therapy
  • Mindfulness
  • Person-centred therapy
  • Psychoanalytic therapy
  • Psychoanalytical and psychodynamic
  • Psychodynamic therapy
  • Transactional analysis

Fees

Extra terms & Conditions
(due to the Coronavirus-Covid19 pandemic).
On arrival at my house, you will be asked to use a hand sanitiser and to wear a clear plastic adjustable face visor, both items will be supplied by me at the front door. I will also be wearing a visor and we will both be keeping the visor on until you have finished your counselling session and you have left the house. This rule will be unbroken for your and my safety. No face masks will be worn under the visor and you will be asked to take the visor with you when you leave the session, along with any tissues you may have used.

My fees for individual & couple counselling are £30 for a full hour; if clients wish, as a 'get to know me', they can have a first 30 minute introductory session free of charge.

Fee charges are £30 for a full hour, paid by debit card only via electronic funds transfer (EFT). Payment to be made 24 hours prior to your allotted appointment time. My Bank details are available on request. Sorry, NO cash payments during this time.
After the Government have given the all clear on Coronavirus (ie we have all had our inoculations) my fee can once again be paid with either Cash or Debit card if preferred.

For students on Counselling Diploma placement training my fees are £30 an hour for personal therapy or supervision.

Further information

Get to know me
My registered first name is Thomasina, but I am known as Tina.
I was born in Dartford, Kent, UK and lived in Kent most of my life.

I moved to the East Riding of Yorkshire in February 2020.

What led me to counselling?
I started my counselling career as a volunteer for Victim Support, a charity that visits victims of crime and helps them through the trauma of what happened to them.

I wanted to help these victims of crime because I had been through this when managing a shop with my husband.

My experience happened early one Monday morning, when a gang of men came into our shop brandishing guns and proceeded to gag, blindfold and put wax into my husband's ears and tie him up on the floor of the shop storeroom. I called down from our flat above the shop and one of the men pointed a gun at me and told me to lock our dog upstairs and come down to join my husband. A short time after, our daughter came home from work and became part of the situation. I was able to negotiate with the gang for better conditions during our 3 hour ordeal.
We then, after 12 years at the shop, had to leave the retail trade, losing our jobs and home (tied accommodation), as my husband suffered Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) due to being unable to protect his family in their hour of need.

We  bought our own house and got new jobs, and our lives changed dramatically.

Shortly after moving we started Fostering for Kent County Council. In all we fostered 32 children; some short term, some long term. We took in emergency placements, day care and respite care. At times we had 5 children at home during the day.
While fostering, during the daytime my husband did voluntary work and during the evening I did a counselling Diploma Course, alongside my voluntary  counselling. We generally kept ourselves very busy.

Due to our foster children mostly coming into care through suffering some sort of abuse, we raised the money to start a charity called Family Matters based in Gravesend, Kent. UK. The prime objective of the charity was to help adults who had been abused when they were children. It is still operating today, extending across Kent, Surrey and South East London and helping over 4,000 people a year.

I trained 90+ volunteer counsellors as well as providing counselling, group facilitating, working on the helpline and being a member of various committees.

http://familymattersuk.org/counselling

I also spent time abroad helping to set up counselling/support teams in Slovenia arranged through Family Matters, Kent Social Services and the Charities Commission.

After passing my Diploma in Counselling in 1995  I started teaching Counselling, at all levels, for Kent County Council Adult Education.  I then wrote and supplied Tutor and Student Training Guides for KCC Adult Education at their request.

I also mentored all of the counselling tutors for Kent County Councils Adult Education programs between 2012 & 2020.

My husband and I moved to Yorkshire in February 2020 to be near our Daughter & Grandchildren

In July 2009 I was honoured, with my husband, to be invited by The Queen to attend a Royal Garden Party at Buckingham Palace for our work as Foster Carers and our Volunteer Works over many years.

PASTIMES:

I like to use the gym 7 days a week, as I now have the equipment set up in my house.
I played Table Tennis once or twice a week, I played for a league against all ages and genders until moving in Feb. 2020.
I go on long walks with my husband as often as we can.
I apply to be on TV quiz shows, I have been on two and won one.
I do crosswords, puzzles and puzzle books.
I play card games and other games on the computer (not for money).
I like to fly and I have so far flown in 11 different types of craft: Hot air balloon, Micro-light, Sea plane, Glider, Helicopters, Concorde etc.


Rudston
Driffield
East Riding Of Yorkshire
YO25

Type of session

In person
Online
Phone
Home visits

Practical details

Sign language
Other languages None

Accessibility

Wheelchair user access

Wheelchair-accessible premises should have step-free access for wheelchair users and individuals who are unable to climb stairs. If a counsellor's premises aren't step-free, they may offer alternative services such as telephone/web-based appointments, home visits, or meeting clients in different location, so you can choose the option that suits you best.

You can contact the counsellor to discuss the options available.

Under the Equality Act 2010 service providers have a duty to make reasonable adjustments to ensure that individuals with disabilities can access their service. You can read more about reasonable adjustments to help you to access services on the CAB website.

Wheelchair user access

Car parking on flat solid surface on driveway. Access is one small step, followed by another small step, followed by a slightly higher step over the threshold.

Availability

My hours for counselling are:

Monday to Saturday 10am till 7pm

Types of client

Young people
Adults
Older adults
Couples
Families
Groups
Organisations
Employee Assistance Programme
Thomasina Crockford

Thomasina Crockford

Save profile Saved Call me

Call options

Landline

01262420653 01262420653

Mobile

07950 076305 07950 076305
Message me