Shabana Lee

Shabana Lee

About me

I am a fully qualified counsellor based in the Highams Park & Woodford Green areas of East London.

​I am a member of the British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy (BACP). I have over 10 years experience working as an counsellor, working in various women's refuge and as an outreach worker. I have worked with men and women from many different backgrounds particularly with those that have suffered assault, domestic violence, forced marriages, those expereincing difficulties in their relationships this could be their partner, siblings, family, in-laws, children, friends, collagues or the community. i have worked closely with individuals that have experienced cultural pressures, having to hide their identity or sexulality, those feeling criticised, feeling their life is not their own, having to please others even if it causes them unhappiness, worrying what others may think and struggling to live their lives. I have offered support to individuals from many multi ethnic communities particularly those from the Asian, Turkish, and African-Caribbean communities.

I offer a warm, safe and genuine service, whatever concerns you have or whatever area of your life you wish to explore, you can share them with someone who understands the many different issues of living in a diverse society. Someone who will not judge and offer a calming space so you can express yourself freely, to help you make sence of your situation, to explore yourself or your relationships further and reaching a healthier place in your life.

Training, qualifications & experience

2009-2010: Person Centred Art Therapy
2006-2008: Diploma in Counselling
1999-2002: BA (Hons) Social Work
1999-2000: OCR Counselling
1998: Introduction to Counselling

Member organisations

BACP

Accredited register membership

Fees

Sessions are £50 although some concessionary fees are available.

Maps & Directions

Woodford Green, IG8

Type of session

Online counselling: Yes
Telephone counselling: Yes
Face to face counselling: Yes
Home visits: No

Practical details

Sign language: No
Other languages: Hindi

Accessibility

Wheelchair access: No

Availability

I am available during both the daytime and evenings

Types of client

Young people
Adults
Older adults
Couples